Manually Add Applicants to Jobs

Article Appropriate for These User Types: ADMINISTRATOR, POSTING MANAGER, NON-POSTING MANAGER
Applicable HireCentric Dashboard: APPLICANTS, JOBS

There may be times when a HireCentric user would like to add an applicant to consideration for a specific job listing, but the applicant is unable to complete the application him/herself. Or, maybe a recruiter just finds that an applicant might be better suited for a different job listing that is currently or soon to be available. Within HireCentric, there are a couple of different ways to manually add someone as an applicant for a specific job listing:
 
  • Add a brand new applicant to a job listing
  • Copy an existing applicant to consideration for a different job listing

Add a brand new applicant to a job listing
Use this approach when the applicant does not yet exist within your HireCentric portal. Navigate to the Jobs dashboard and then select the Job Listings tab. Next, click on the icon with the person and green plus sign next to the job listing for which you'd like to add an applicant.
Once the icon is clicked, a new window will open prompting you to enter information about the applicant.
With this approach, you may wish to contact the newly added applicant to notify him/her of your actions. Here's some example text that might be helpful in communicating to your applicant via email (NOTE: Be sure and replace the "yourcompany" subdomain in the URL addresses below with your own company's HireCentric subdomain). You might also consider adding it as an email template within HireCentric if you plan on manually adding new applicants often.

Dear #first_name#,
We have created a profile on your behalf and submitted your application to the #job_title# position. We encourage you to log on to your profile at https://yourcompany.hirecentric.com/account/ using the email address to which I have sent this email notification. You will need to request  your password by clicking "Forgot Password" or by navigating to this page https://yourcompany.hirecentric.com/account/forgot_password.php

Many thanks,
Your Company


NOTE: Sometimes, when adding a new applicant, you will be notified that the candidate's email address already exists in the system. This may mean that he/she is a previous applicant within your careers portal; or, that he/she has previously applied within another HireCentric careers portal in the past (one of our other clients). When this occurs, you will see a red text notification and may then select the "Add This Applicant" button that appears at the right, as in the below image. This saves you from having to fill out the remaining fields on the form.

Copy an existing applicant to consideration for a different job listing
Use this option when the applicant already exists within your portal because he/she has previously applied for at least one other job listing. This is just another way of doing what is described above in the "NOTE:" section; however, this is accomplished from an applicant's record rather than within the Jobs dashboard. Navigate to the existing applicant's record. Depending on your user permissions, you will see an option to copy the applicant to a new job listing. If you do not see this area (indicated in image below), then there may be one of two reasons:
 
  1. This feature has not yet been turned on in your ATS. To utilize it, please let us know by emailing support@exacthire.com;
  2. The user type you are assigned doesn't currently permit you to copy applicants to other jobs. NOTE: Screened logins may never copy applicants to other job listings; however, Manager level logins can be enabled to allow a user to copy applicants to other postings.
 
To change permissions on a Manager level login, please ask one of your Admin users to edit your user permissions to indicate "yes" for the "enable copy applicants" field.
Special Consideration
If you plan on using the Add Manual Applicant feature within HireCentric, please note that only the one-step, complete application will work with this feature. If you have the two-step application enabled for a position and do opt to add an applicant manually at times, he/she will be prompted to complete the entire application in one phase; whereas, other applicants that might apply for the same position on their own will only be prompted to complete only the initial phase of the application in the first step.
Here are some additional considerations:
  • When invited to update an application, the applicant MUST access the job site/application using the link in the "Further Information Requested from..." invitation email. If the applicant logs in directly, bypassing the invitation email link, his/her application will be noted as "Complete" and he/she cannot click on it to continue.  Going through the email link will tell the system to show the "Continue" link.
  • Since an applicant will see the full application (i.e. no two-step process is available for manually added apps), the instructions on the application will represent the one-phase, full application instructions, rather than the short application instructions.

Need Help?
Still have questions or want to brainstorm on the best approach for your organization? Please let us know by contacting support@exacthire.com.


Print Friendly and PDF

Did you find this article helpful?